Pinwheels at Pequannock High School represent young lives lost
Drop Box Locations
Overdose Prevention Act

Parents Who Host

Our mission is to prevent and reduce youth substance use and abuse in the Pequannock Township community.

Pequannock Township takes underage drinking seriously.

Serving alcohol to a minor is already a disorderly person’s offense in New Jersey, however Pequannock has an additional ordinance making it a violation for youth to possess or consume alcohol on private property, if their parent has not given permission and is not present. Any person found guilty of this ordinance will be subject to fines, suspensions of driving, among other consequences.

Additionally, by supplying alcohol to underage youth, you risk their lives as well.

Take a stand with Pequannock and don’t host underage drinking!

Parents Who Host Brochure 2015

Overdose Prevention Act

Underage Private Property Law

Possession or Consumption of Alcoholc Beverages by Underage Person on Private Property Prohibited.

It is hereby unlawful for any person under the legal age to, without legal authority, knowingly possess or knowingly consume an alcoholic beverage on private property.

Violation and Penalties.

A. Any person found guilty of violating the terms of this ordinance shall be subject to a fine of $250.00 for the first offense and a fine of $350.00 for any subsequent offense. In addition, the court may, upon a finding of guilty, in addition to the fine authorized for this offense, suspend or postpone for six months the driving privileges of the defendant. Upon the conviction of any person and the suspension or postponement of that person’s drivers license, the court shall forward a report to the Division of Motor Vehicles stating the first and last day of the suspension or postponement period imposed by the court pursuant to this section. If a person at the time of the imposition of a sentence is less than 17 years of age, the period of license postponement, including a suspension or postponement of the privilege of operating a motorized bicycle, shall commence on the day the sentence is imposed and shall run for a period of six months after the person reaches the age of 17 years. If the defendant at the time of the imposition of the sentence has a valid drivers license issued by this state, the court shall immediately collect the license and forward it to the Division of Motor Vehicles along with the report. If for any reason the license cannot be collected, the court shall include in the report the complete name, address, date of birth, eye color, and sex of the person, as well as the first and last date of the license suspension period imposed by the court.

B. The court shall inform the person orally and in writing that if the person is convicted of operating a motor vehicle during the period of license suspension or postponement, the person shall be subject to the penalties set forth in N.J.S.A. 39:3-40. The defendant shall be required to acknowledge receipt of the written notice in writing. Failure to receive a written no- tice or failure to acknowledge in writing the receipt of the written notice shall not be a defense to a subsequent charge of a violation of N.J.S.A. 39:3- 40.

C. If the person convicted under this ordinance is not a New Jersey resident, the court shall suspend or postpone, as appropriate, the nonresident driving privilege of the person based on the age of the person and submit to the Division the required report. The court shall not collect the license of a nonresident convicted under this Article. Upon receipt of a report by the court, the Division shall notify the appropriate officials in the licensing jurisdiction of the suspension or postponement.

 

Pequannock Takes Underage Drinking Seriously Brochure